[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum moderator: Daddio, Cichor 
Forum » Cossacks I » GamePlay » Windows 7 error (Game wont play)
Windows 7 error
OverunNDate: Sunday, 11/April/2010, 9:03 PM | Message # 1
Noblemen
Group: Users
Messages: 6
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Hi All,

6 years ago i purchased a game called cossacks european wars and loved it, got bored and vowed never to play online gaming as it was taking over my life. Having withdrawl symtoms of this game i decided to reload it onto my Brand new computer and the bloody thing will not run.

it has installed fine from the original CD, but when i click on the dmcr.exe file shortcut to play the game or click "play game" in the menu. It just comes up with an error message that the game will not run without the cd - yet i just installed the game off it 10mins prior....can anyone help?

i have uploaded a dxdiag file and pC Wizards info - if anyone can help theres a beer in it for you :P

cheers OverunN

Attachments: OverunNs_pc_inf.txt(1Kb)
 
CichorDate: Sunday, 11/April/2010, 10:26 PM | Message # 2
Earl
Group: Moderators
Messages: 232
Awards: 4
Reputation: 3
Status: Offline
Try:

http://cossacksworld.ucoz.co.uk/load/0-0-0-90-20

or

http://rliga.com/trash/forGF8x.rar

or

http://209.85.129.132/transla....&u=http

Write the results.


I apologize for my english.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

http://www.kozacy.org/
http://forum.kozacy.org/
 
OverunNDate: Monday, 12/April/2010, 8:14 AM | Message # 3
Noblemen
Group: Users
Messages: 6
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Hi baron,

Thanyou for responding - i tried the first one and clicked on dmr.bat file and the cd drive light started flashing as though it was going to play the game and then stops flashing and the message" you need the cd in the cd drive for the game to play"

then when i tried the GF*x rar file and loaded that into the folder, that came up with the same message

i then ran that latest patch fix and it also did the same - do i need to be running all of this under Compatability mode Xp s2? or as normal in windows 7? because i have done this in windows 7 so far?

cheers

OverunN

 
EbelAngelDate: Monday, 12/April/2010, 1:55 PM | Message # 4
Site Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 980
Awards: 7
Reputation: 12
Status: Offline
Hi OverrunN,

Quote (OverunN)
Thanyou for responding - i tried the first one and clicked on dmr.bat file and the cd drive light started flashing as though it was going to play the game and then stops flashing and the message" you need the cd in the cd drive for the game to play"

The dmcr.bat file is for a colour problem with Win 7, but you aren't even getting in game so that one will do no good.

The other fixes, same story, they are fixes to problems you don't seem to have so neither of those will work.

It looks like your cd rom isn't recognized on calling on it to play the game, even though the installation from it went fine. Sounds weird but it seems the only conclusion. Can I ask which version of the game it is, i.e country bought in or country release. Reason why I ask is that I remember an issue for the UK release on which the cd rom wouldnt be recognized, but that was for the Art of War and not European Wars like yours.

For the rest everything looks good in your dx, don't see what could be causing the problem both OS as hardware wise.

I hope you have learned the basics of Windows 7 program execution so its not a matter of not knowing how to run programs as administrator or taking ownership of the folder.

Regards


 
CichorDate: Monday, 12/April/2010, 2:27 PM | Message # 5
Earl
Group: Moderators
Messages: 232
Awards: 4
Reputation: 3
Status: Offline
I'm Cichor, not baron tongue

You tried run other Cossacks (AoW or BtW)?

If you install AoW I have for you patch:
http://cossacks.in4.pl/patch_1.30_eng.exe
NO CD Patch applied

*********************************
I found all below there:
http://forum.c1c.pl/no-cd-patch-vt295.htm

C:BtW no-cd patch
http://www.cossacksworld.ucoz.co.uk/Downloads/Nocdpatch135.rar

Quote (EbelAngel)
Can I ask which version of the game it is, i.e country bought in or country release. Reason why I ask is that I remember an issue for the UK release on which the cd rom wouldnt be recognized, but that was for the Art of War and not European Wars like yours.

Look below, it is a patch for the repair of what Angel said.
C:EW no-cd patch:
http://www.cossacksworld.ucoz.co.uk/Downloads/cossfix303cdromuk.zip
It's for ver. 1.15 and seems to be work with polish version of game. Try it, and tell us about results.


I apologize for my english.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

http://www.kozacy.org/
http://forum.kozacy.org/


Message edited by Cichor - Monday, 12/April/2010, 6:58 PM
 
OverunNDate: Monday, 12/April/2010, 7:24 PM | Message # 6
Noblemen
Group: Users
Messages: 6
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Quote (EbelAngel)
Can I ask which version of the game it is, i.e country bought in or country release. Reason why I ask is that I remember an issue for the UK release on which the cd rom wouldnt be recognized, but that was for the Art of War and not European Wars like yours

it is a Uk purchased european wars cd with the original book and cd. is there no way i can play this game from cd or can i bypass the cd and play off the harddrive? if i copy it ?

Quote (EbelAngel)
It looks like your cd rom isn't recognized on calling on it to play the game, even though the installation from it went fine

yes thats right it loaded fine, when i click on dmcr.exe to play the cd spins, the lights on the cd drive flash for about 6-8 seconds and then i get that awful

Added (12/April/2010, 7:06 PM)
---------------------------------------------
will give it a try then cichor with out all the other recommendations or do i added ontop of all those other fixes aswell? plz advise?

Added (12/April/2010, 7:16 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Hi Cichor thanks for the patch, the cd now runs, but all those other patches u told me about are on the computer, si which and where do i install them, as i am getting wierd pictures on my screen from the main menu onwards, all itty bitty and multicoloured

Added (12/April/2010, 7:24 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Wahahayyyyyyy,

Thats brilliant news Cichor and Ebelangel, the problem is when i load the game and go into the main lobby i see no games at all and have major issues getting peepes to talk to me? i know i have to open certain ports with the game and cannot for the life of me remember which ones - also does my firewall play a part in it AVG 9.0.801 version free - all i want to do is play a 1.15 game online and alos be able to host it too sad

btw ty so much for getting me this far smile

Message edited by OverunN - Monday, 12/April/2010, 7:25 PM
 
CichorDate: Monday, 12/April/2010, 8:04 PM | Message # 7
Earl
Group: Moderators
Messages: 232
Awards: 4
Reputation: 3
Status: Offline
I'm not sure I understand you correct.
Maybe this resolve your problem:
http://cossacksworld.ucoz.co.uk/news....1-13-15

But I'm afraid that you should buy C:BtW (Antology or something like that) because most of players use C:BtW 1.35.

PS.
Your problem from private massage is obsolete, right?


I apologize for my english.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

http://www.kozacy.org/
http://forum.kozacy.org/


Message edited by Cichor - Monday, 12/April/2010, 8:08 PM
 
OverunNDate: Monday, 12/April/2010, 10:37 PM | Message # 8
Noblemen
Group: Users
Messages: 6
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
you fixed my cd problem not working - but now with the gameranger menu selecting the old dmcr.exe file, i get awful quality gaming due to poor pictures and proo lag which im sure is attributable to the old dmcr.exe file - the new fix bat file is not allowed to be selected by game ranger as it looks foran exe file in the menu only
 
EbelAngelDate: Tuesday, 13/April/2010, 12:36 PM | Message # 9
Site Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 980
Awards: 7
Reputation: 12
Status: Offline
Quote (OverunN)
you fixed my cd problem not working - but now with the gameranger menu selecting the old dmcr.exe file, i get awful quality gaming due to poor pictures and proo lag which im sure is attributable to the old dmcr.exe file - the new fix bat file is not allowed to be selected by game ranger as it looks foran exe file in the menu only

Try to do what the batch file does but manual then:

- ( start gameranger)
- ctrl + alt + del ( access task manager) , select process tab, shut down explorer.exe
- alt tab back to gameranger and play a game
- al tab back to task manager, select File- New Process and type: explorer.exe and hit enter
- explorer returns

Regards


 
OverunNDate: Wednesday, 14/April/2010, 9:04 PM | Message # 10
Noblemen
Group: Users
Messages: 6
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
yey it works - works fine tbh tongue
 
Forum » Cossacks I » GamePlay » Windows 7 error (Game wont play)
Page 1 of 212»
Search: