[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Forum moderator: Daddio, Cichor  
Forum » Cossacks I » Modding » Problem with random maps
Problem with random maps
Warren_GdaDate: Sunday, 14/March/2010, 4:26 PM | Message # 1
Baron
Group: Checked
Messages: 36
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Hi again Angel and the rest. ;)

I would like to make mini cossacks mod for training to multiplayer leagues. I mean that I want train only selected maps from random maps. Can somebody tell me when is it the file with this (algoritm?) and what is it name? If i cannot change to play only selected maps then maybe I can write new file/algoritm or smth simillar. I need only place and name of this file.

Thx a lot and sorry for my poor english.

Greetings, Warren.


http://c1c.pl
http://forum.c1c.pl
 
EbelAngelDate: Monday, 15/March/2010, 10:45 AM | Message # 2
Site Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 981
Awards: 7
Reputation: 12
Status: Offline
Hello Warren

Can you tell me exactly what you mean with ' i want to train only selected maps from random maps' ? What exactly do you mean with 'selected' maps? What kind of selection, what type of maps specifically do you want to isolate? And is it the general terrain landscape, it's features or resources placement , or all that together which you want to change?

Depending on what it is exactly that you want to do, there might be some options to do changes to the random maps on Cossacks I. However, I must say, though I have not tried this on Cossacks I, I do have set up random maps for Cossacks II, and as such somewhat understand how it works, but, in Cossacks II everything is accessible to me, which for Cossacks I , this is not the case. As I understand the main part of the generation of random maps comes directly from the engine, unlike on CII.

However, there are some parameter files that clearly are used for random maps.

In the ALL.GSC you can find these files:

- Terrain\HILLS0.DAT
- Terrain\HILLS1.DAT
- Terrain\HILLS2.DAT
- Terrain\MOUNT.DAT

These use layers & textures to create the shape of hills / mounts in this case. Each Layer has information attached to it : eg.

TexAmount 2
11 4
Height 110 129
Angle 0 99
#L11

Meaning there are 2 textures (being 11 & 4 ), then the height (min-max) , the angle of the slope ( min & max) and the last number ( #L11 in this case) I'm not entirely sure about, but it must refer to another file in the ALL.GSC

Other files involved in random maps:

- Terrain\ RES.DAT : the first 3 sections are, well, how much mines to put on the map, the second how much resources ( for options), third section is the available landscapes in options and the fourth one is more close related to the random maps:
6 1
#0 LT_Land 000.STY 6 2 suhod4.msp 3 suhod4.msp 4 suhod4.msp 5 suhod5.msp 6 suhod6.msp 7 suhod7.msp
#1 LT_Mediterranean 000.STY 6 2 srediz4.msp 3 srediz4.msp 4 srediz4.msp 5 mediter7.msp 6 mediter7.msp 7 mediter7.msp
#2 LT_Peninsulas 000.STY 6 2 poluos2.msp 3 poluos3.msp 4 poluos4.msp 5 poluos7.msp 6 poluos7.msp 7 poluos7.msp
#2 LT_Islands 000.STY 6 2 ostrova2.msp 3 ostrova3.msp 4 ostrov4.msp 5 islands7_1.msp 6 islands7_1.msp 7 islands7_1.msp
#2 LT_Continents 000.STY 6 6 kontin2.msp 3 kontin3.msp 4 kontin4.msp 5 islands7.msp 6 islands7.msp 7 islands7.msp
#1 LT_Continent 000.STY 6 2 mediter4.msp 3 mediter4.msp 4 mediter4.msp 5 contin7.msp 6 contin7.msp 7 contin7.msp

This reads as : there are 6 main types of landscapes. Each of these lines will pick landscape samples from the corresponding .msp file.

Further you will find:

- Terrain\TERRLIST.DAT :
This file lists the different landscape pieces that are used from the PIECES folder.

and then evidently

- Terrain\PIECES\ ... all of these are for the random maps.
It has 3 main types of files:
- .smp ( samples) (if you look close, these are the same samples that appear in the editor when you open up the control + v ( landscape pieces) list). You can freely create new landscapes samples in the editor with control + C and then implement them.
- .LST ( file listing of the samples)
- .TERR ( as reffered to in TERRLIST.DAT)

Then there's also RANDOM.LST in the main all.gsc file but it decrypts weird and dont know what to make of it.

There maybe more files involved.


 
Warren_GdaDate: Monday, 15/March/2010, 11:39 PM | Message # 3
Baron
Group: Checked
Messages: 36
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Thanks very much. ;)

Quote
Can you tell me exactly what you mean with ' i want to train only selected maps from random maps' ? What exactly do you mean with 'selected' maps? What kind of selection, what type of maps specifically do you want to isolate? And is it the general terrain landscape, it's features or resources placement , or all that together which you want to change?

Only Land, plain, but not all. We know that from land, plain game draws some maps. Exactly in 0 peace time are about 20-30 maps, but i need only 5 from them to train. 2 for rush, 2 for eco gaming and with water.
And resources hm... for 1000 0pt I need land, plain, minerals lean, for 5000 0pt land, plain, minerals rich.

And one mor question.

Do You know how I can save maps, which i have played before? (from random, internet game) I'm sure it's possible bcs in the past i saved some maps.. but i don't remember how. :)


http://c1c.pl
http://forum.c1c.pl


Message edited by Warren_Gda - Monday, 15/March/2010, 11:44 PM
 
EbelAngelDate: Monday, 15/March/2010, 11:49 PM | Message # 4
Site Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 981
Awards: 7
Reputation: 12
Status: Offline
Quote (Warren_Gda)
Do You know how I can save maps, which i have played before? (from random, internet game) I'm sure it's possible bcs in the past i saved some maps.. but i don't remember how. :)

In the Main Menu, go to Options, and there at the bottom is a box that you can (un)tick to save games. if you leave the text area blank it will create a random number genre RNO 123 456 9878. If you fill out a name there, it will save your next played game under that name.

Quote (Warren_Gda)
We know that from land, plain game draws some maps. Exactly in 0 peace time are about 20-30 maps, but i need only 5 from them to train. 2 for rush, 2 for eco gaming and with water.

Right, indeed , because of the pool of sample terrains, the same maps come back indeed, only the resources placement may be different due to a larger pool of samples to take from.

I see 2 ways to achieve what it is that you want, but I'm gonna have a look myself if what I think is possible at all to do.
One is clean out the not necessary landscape samples that are used to generate maps for plain land, the other is to generate all maps till the first one comes back, and then save those maps you like most and play them under the 'designed' option.

The more information as to how you would like this, the better I can help you.


 
Warren_GdaDate: Tuesday, 16/March/2010, 1:44 PM | Message # 5
Baron
Group: Checked
Messages: 36
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Oh, very thanks again Angel. You're very helpful person. ;)

Quote
#0 LT_Land 000.STY 6 2 suhod4.msp 3 suhod4.msp 4 suhod4.msp 5 suhod5.msp 6 suhod6.msp 7 suhod7.msp

Do You know any possibility to edit/watch these files?


http://c1c.pl
http://forum.c1c.pl


Message edited by Warren_Gda - Tuesday, 16/March/2010, 11:28 PM
 
EbelAngelDate: Tuesday, 16/March/2010, 11:57 PM | Message # 6
Site Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 981
Awards: 7
Reputation: 12
Status: Offline
Right, I just spent some time trying things out, ahum...this isnt as easy as it seems. Main issues at the moment is the inability to open up the .msp & .msk formats.

The .msp contain the landscapes and the .msk the mask layers. I don't know what to open them with. I'v been googling around for quite some time and the msp's supposedly refer to PaintShop Pro, but guess what, I got that and it doesnt recognize these files as a valid format. So I opened them with Notepad to see what they are and indeed they seem to be layers & mask images.

Further I found more files involved but they dont decrypt properly.

I don't know Warren, without real dedication and time this seems kinda hard to pull off.

It's possible that these msp & msk files dont need to be opened at all, but just deleted from the text, lst & .sty files but I should try i out.

I'm gonna have to think about this.


 
Warren_GdaDate: Wednesday, 17/March/2010, 0:29 AM | Message # 7
Baron
Group: Checked
Messages: 36
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Quote
It's possible that these msp & msk files dont need to be opened at all, but just deleted from the text, lst & .sty files but I should try i out.

You're right. I will delete

Quote
3 suhod4.msp 4 suhod4.msp 5 suhod5.msp 6 suhod6.msp 7 suhod7.msp

from Terrain\ RES.DAT, but in past when i made other mini mod my game cossacks did not see new file e.g mod02.gs1 I tried made what You did on

http://cossacksworld.ucoz.co.uk/index/0-184 (new option, new minerals) it was not working, but I did not edit the file 'TEXT6'. Do You think it was not working because I didn't edit this file? It's only txt file. In my opinion this is not important file for dmrc.exe. :)

I'm going to sleep. Maybe tommorow I will have fresh minds and It all will be very easy for me. Good night. :)


http://c1c.pl
http://forum.c1c.pl


Message edited by Warren_Gda - Wednesday, 17/March/2010, 0:30 AM
 
EbelAngelDate: Wednesday, 17/March/2010, 0:34 AM | Message # 8
Site Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 981
Awards: 7
Reputation: 12
Status: Offline
Quote (Warren_Gda)
You're right. I will delete

Ok, let me know how that works

Quote (Warren_Gda)
but in past when i made other mini mod my game cossacks did not see new file e.g mod02.gs1 I tried made what You did on
http://cossacksworld.ucoz.co.uk/index/0-184 (new option, new minerals) it was not working, but I did not edit the file 'TEXT6'. Do You think it was not working because I didn't edit this file? It's only txt file. In my opinion this is not important file for dmrc.exe

Normally the text file is just there to translate to different languages and as such should indeed not pose a problem.

Can you show me the files you changed or put that mods02.gs1 in .rar format and put it in attachment (if its less then 2048 kb), if its more, use the File Catalogue to upload and then link to it here

Sleep Well bunny


 
Warren_GdaDate: Wednesday, 17/March/2010, 1:14 PM | Message # 9
Baron
Group: Checked
Messages: 36
Awards: 0
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline
Oh... maybe it's my mistake. I put to mods02.gs1 all files. Not modified and modified. whistling
I'm going to try put only the modified files. ))

If this will not working also, then I will send You these files.

Edit:

Ok, working now, but i had to change name from mod02.gs1 (mod01.gs1) to patch01.gs1.


http://c1c.pl
http://forum.c1c.pl


Message edited by Warren_Gda - Wednesday, 17/March/2010, 3:51 PM
 
Forum » Cossacks I » Modding » Problem with random maps
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Search: