[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Forum moderator: Daddio, EbelAngel  
Forum » Cossacks II » Gameplay » 1.2 and steam
1.2 and steam
DaddioDate: Sunday, 27/May/2012, 5:01 PM | Message # 1
Marquis
Group: Moderators
Messages: 431
Awards: 4
Reputation: 3
Status: Offline
I have been asked to pose a question about steam version of Napoleonic wars.

It seems that when you try to apply the 1.2 patch, the patch can not find the correct path to the game in order to install it.

I suggested that you change the folder name so the patch can find it. But this apparently prevents the game from running.

So problem presented, any ideas?

Daddio


http://i1045.photobucket.com/albums/b455/Billy_Jo_Patrick/cossacks2_art_03_zpsel8tgwad.jpg
 
CichorDate: Sunday, 27/May/2012, 7:24 PM | Message # 2
Earl
Group: Moderators
Messages: 232
Awards: 4
Reputation: 3
Status: Offline
I'm not sure that I correct understand and I don't know you will understand what I want to say, but maybe I know resolve. During installing C2, accept original destiny of game ... ... Don't change disc or destiny folder, let instalator program, install game where it want. Then try to install patch. I don't know STEAM system, but it is possibility that steam versions of games need special patches directly from steam.

I apologize for my english.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

http://www.kozacy.org/
http://forum.kozacy.org/
 
EbelAngelDate: Monday, 28/May/2012, 6:58 AM | Message # 3
Site Administrator
Group: Administrators
Messages: 981
Awards: 7
Reputation: 12
Status: Offline
Hi,

it is because when you install the Cossacks 2 ( cdv, or any non steam - publishers version), it will by default create an entry in the registry. This is where the patch looks to know where the game has been installed.
Apparently the steam version has a different registry entry and therefor the patch can not be installed automatically.

Once upon a time before the era of automation, everything was done manually...so I commented on the steam forum some time about this and with any luck you will still find the extracted patch there to be installed manually.

It can not be stressed enough for players to take a copy of their game first ( as if you would install a mod) as a backup, rather having to reinstall, when an error during the install of the patch happens.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2258956

The english version of the patch is on page 2 of that thread. If the links are down, it also explains how to manually extract and install.

Some basic computer knowledge is required to get it running this way.

Regards.
E.A.


 
Forum » Cossacks II » Gameplay » 1.2 and steam
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Search: